Texas Children’s nurses earn 2023 Excellence in Nursing Awards for extraordinary care

Click image for larger view.

More than 70 nurses from Texas Children’s and the Texas Children’s Health Plan have been named recipients of the 2023 Excellence in Nursing Awards from the Good Samaritan Foundation for offering extraordinary and compassionate care and service at the bedside.

Each Excellence in Nursing honoree was nominated by their peers for demonstrating passion for the nursing profession, leadership, mentorship and service to the Houston community. The nominations were reviewed and scored by a selection committee comprised of clinical leaders in the Texas Medical Center.

Recipients will be honored on Friday, Dec. 8 at the annual Excellence in Nursing Awards Luncheon, which celebrates and recognizes outstanding nurses in education and clinical practice throughout the state. The awards program is among the largest in Texas that recognizes the dedicated nurses who are actively working in the profession.

Perioperative Nurse Manager Valentina Briceno-Marmol, BSN, RN, CNOR, received the 2023 Excellence in Nursing Gold Award. West Campus Staff Nurse Danyelle Lewis, BSN, RN, CPN, received the Silver Award.

The following nurses were selected to receive Bronze Awards:

  • Sadaf Abbas, West Campus
  • Lena Abraham, Medical Center
  • Marelisa Amezcua, Medical Center
  • Anh Anderson, Pavilion for Women
  • Paula Barnes, Medical Center
  • Brittany Blackston, Medical Center
  • Cherida Bluford, The Woodlands
  • Sharon Burks, Pavilion for Women
  • Fallon Campbell, Medical Center
  • Belinda Campbell-Alexander, Medical Center
  • Akisha Cannon, Medical Center
  • Marian Carrion, The Woodlands
  • Felicia Cooper, Medical Center
  • Deanna Courts, Health Plan
  • Karen De Jesus, Pavilion for Women
  • Ruby De Jesus, Medical Center
  • Brandy Firmin, The Woodlands
  • Morgan Fischer, Pavilion for Women
  • Andrea Gomez, Health Plan
  • Clarissa Gonzalez, Medical Center
  • Corrin Graham, The Woodlands
  • Jennifer Graham, Medical Center
  • Diana Harter, Medical Center
  • Emily Hergenrother, Medical Center
  • Kimberly Holt, The Woodlands
  • Laeticia Isibor, Health Plan
  • Katie Johnson, Medical Center
  • Kristen Kelly, Medical Center
  • Steven Kibodeaux, Medical Center
  • Denisecia Kirk, Medical Center
  • Tina Kratky, Medical Center
  • Amberly Lake, Medical Center
  • Nicole Leathers, Medical Center
  • Barbara Levy, Pavilion for Women
  • Royanne Lichliter, Medical Center
  • Catherine Maldonado, Medical Center
  • Rosalinda Martinez, Pavilion for Women
  • Regan McCanna, Medical Center
  • Lindsay Meade, Medical Center
  • Rita Ming, Health Plan
  • Kristine Murray, Medical Center
  • Laura Newsom, Medical Center
  • Khanh Nguyen, Pavilion for Women
  • Michelle A. Nguyen, Medical Center
  • Uzoma Obi, Health Plan
  • Anastacia (Cia) Pappas, Medical Center
  • Laura Phan, Medical Center
  • Vanessa Phillips, Medical Center
  • Samantha Quintana, Medical Center
  • Frances Racine, Health Plan
  • Angelina (Angie) Rangel, Medical Center
  • Allison Rogan, Medical Center
  • Jacqueline Ryan, Health Plan
  • Jayson Salazar, Medical Center
  • Jasmine Sammons, Medical Center
  • Yolanda Segura, Medical Center
  • Whitney Shipp, Medical Center
  • Dominique Simon, Medical Center
  • Chloe Smith, Medical Center
  • Rebekah Sopko, Medical Center
  • Michael Sparks, Pavilion for Women
  • Jenny Thai, Medical Center
  • Kathleen Ulanday, Medical Center
  • Precious Uwaezuoke, Medical Center
  • Trisha Vaden, Medical Center
  • Amy Valdez, West Campus
  • Megan Venters, The Woodlands
  • Erica Ventura, West Campus
  • Trang Vu, Medical Center
  • Tej Webster, The Woodlands
  • Heather Wiebe, The Woodlands
  • Stefanie (Shawn) Wolfe, The Woodlands

Congratulations to all of our Nursing colleagues on this achievement!