Texas Children’s nurses recognized with 2021 Excellence in Nursing Award from Good Samaritan Foundation

Recently, 60 nurses at Texas Children’s were selected as the 2021 Excellence in Nursing Award winners from the Good Samaritan Foundation. This award recognizes nurses for their leadership and the extraordinary, compassionate care they deliver to patients and their families every day.

Each year, nurses are nominated for this prestigious award by their peers for their passion, leadership, mentorship and service to our Texas communities. While degrees, certifications, and research exhibit great dedication on the candidate’s part for developing professionally, the Foundation’s priority of focus is on the nominees’ stories of the work they do every day serving patients, families, employees and students. All nominations are reviewed and scored by a distinguished Selection Committee comprised of numerous clinical leaders in the Texas Medical Center.

Clinical Staff Development Specialist Lauren Ivanhoe, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, received the 2021 Excellence in Nursing Gold Award and Nurse Practitioner Viia Anderson, PNP-PC, received the 2021 Excellence in Nursing Silver Award.

Our 2021 Excellence in Nursing Bronze Award winners were:

  • Alva Mixon
  • Anika Barber
  • Anita Harris
  • Anne Lam
  • Anthony Bodnar
  • Bobbie LeBlanc
  • Bridgette Robinson
  • Brittany Turner
  • Diana Sabino
  • Drew Sikes
  • Elise Whalen
  • Emily Viesca
  • Erika Dunn
  • Esmeralda Reyna
  • Ginny Lesikar
  • Jessica Geer
  • JoWinsyl S. Montojo
  • Juanna Wooten-Armstrong
  • Julie Kuzin
  • Kathleen Magee
  • Kelly Stewart
  • Khanh Nguyen
  • Kiersten Anderson-Betker
  • Kim Taylor
  • Lastenia Holton
  • Leslie Goodwin
  • Lindsey Hales
  • Lindsey Zaremba
  • Ma Ann Viraida Trinidad-Dioneda
  • Marco Costilla
  • Maria Happe
  • Maria May
  • Marie Boswell
  • Marvinell Jenkins
  • Megan Bush
  • Megan Schweiger
  • Melisa Landry
  • Mona Clark
  • Nennan Harris
  • Nicole Sanders
  • Paulette Hofstetter
  • Ramon Enad
  • Rhonda Bolin
  • Rhonda Wolfe
  • Sadaf Abbas
  • Sara Pirzadeh
  • Shelby Boone
  • Sheranda Fesler
  • Shiley Aguilar
  • Shonta Davis
  • Sohrab (Alex) Sardual
  • Tamara Dubose
  • Tasha Bryant
  • Tej Webster
  • Theresa Lazarte
  • Tiffany Gray
  • Tina Knutson
  • Tonya Herman

The winners will be celebrated and recognized at the 17th Annual Excellence in Nursing Awards Luncheon on October 12, at The Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston.

Congratulations to all the award winners.