Texas Children’s nurses recognized with 2020 Excellence in Nursing Award from Good Samaritan Foundation

Recently, 46 nurses at Texas Children’s were selected as the 2020 Excellence in Nursing Award winners from the Good Samaritan Foundation. This award recognizes nurses for their leadership at the bedside and the extraordinary, compassionate care they deliver to patients and their families every day.

Each year, nurses are nominated for this prestigious award by their peers for their passion, leadership, mentorship and service to our Texas communities. All nominations are reviewed and scored by a distinguished Selection Committee comprised of numerous clinical leaders in the Texas Medical Center.

Two nurses – Kate Mazur, a PNP instructor for Texas Children’s Cancer Center and Amy Wallace, nursing education coordinator at Texas Children’s Hospital West Campus – received the 2020 Excellence in Nursing Silver Award and 44 nurses across Texas Children’s received the 2020 Excellence in Nursing Bronze Award.

Our 2020 Excellence in Nursing Bronze Award winners were:

Karla Abela
Florence Anyanwu
Terry Armstrong
Nancy Benson
Kirti Bhakta
Linda Brock
Sharon Burks
Natashia Bush
Chelsea Campbell
Jaime Choate
Sherri Forschler
Leah Garza
Angela Gooden
Lindsay Gregory
Nennan Harris
Amy Hemingway
Marika Highberger
Chelsey Hood
Aimee Jackson
Tarra Kerr
Renna Lange
Julie LaSalle
April Lyle
Alva Mixon
Heather Morand-Reid
Sondra Morris
Gabriela Mota
Joellan Mullen
Sudha Nair
Tanya Nelson Hall
Jan Neuhoff
Rhoda Phillips
Kerry Sembera
Karen Sripan
Sharon Staton
Erica Ventura
Emily Viesca
Brandy Wells
Rhonda Wolfe
Gayle Young
Shannon Zerber
Suzzette Wiener
Yolanda Zamora
Jennifer Ziegler

These nurses will be recognized during a special virtual awards ceremony on Friday, October 9. Congratulations to our 2020 award winners!