Texas Children’s hematologists contribute to leading textbook in field

October 8, 2018

Dr. Jenny Despotovic, director of the Immune Hematology program at the Texas Children’s Hematology Center, served as editor of the recently published textbook Immune Hematology: Diagnosis and Management of Autoimmune Cytopenias. The textbook provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of the most common autoimmune cytopenias affecting adults and children.

This is the first textbook dedicated exclusively to immune cytopenias. Despotovic worked with several of her colleagues to develop, write and edit the content in the textbook, which had over 2,000 downloads in the first two months since publication.

The book is divided into four sections, each of which focuses on a major autoimmune cytopenia. The first section features background, pathophysiology, presentation, evaluation, and treatment strategies for immune thrombocytopenia (ITP), the most common cause of antibody-mediated platelet destruction. The second section reviews common forms and treatment strategies for autoimmune hemolytic anemia (AIHA), including a chapter dedicated specifically to Evans Syndrome. The third section comprehensively reviews the pathophysiology, diagnosis and current management approaches to thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura (TTP), a potentially life-threatening autoimmune syndrome. The book concludes with a final section on autoimmune neutropenia. Each section includes a review of common underlying systemic autoimmune conditions and immune deficiency syndromes that can accompany or cause autoimmune cytopenias.

“It was a privilege to be part of the creation of this very important textbook,” Despotovic said. “It is an important addition to the body of literature available to guide providers in the diagnosis and management of these challenging disorders, and will hopefully positively impact the care of patients with these complex conditions.”

Those in the Hematology Center who contributed to the effort include:
Dr. Alicia Chang
Dr. Clay Cohen
Dr. Jenny Despotovic
Dr. Amanda Grimes
Dr. Taylor Olmsted Kim
Dr. Jacquelyn Powers
Dr. Shawki Qasim
Dr. Sarah Sartain