Orange receives prestigious award for advancements in immunology research

Dr. Jordan Orange, professor of pediatrics and chief of the section of Immunology, Allergy and Rheumatology at Baylor College of Medicine, and the director of the Center for Human Immunobiology at Texas Children’s, is the recipient of the 2018 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Medicine from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Read More…


Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology awarded grant to help vaginal reconstructive patients

Texas Children’s Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology Division was recently awarded an NIH Small Business Innovation Research grant via Biotex Inc. to develop vaginal stents that will help vaginal reconstructive patients heal. The most common complication after vaginal reconstruction is restenosis and scar tissue formation, which can occur in up to 73 percent of patients. As Read More…


Two Baylor researchers receive prestigious honors from Child Neurology Society

Dr. Hsiao-Tuan Chao received the 2017 Outstanding Junior Member Award from the Child Neurology Society for her discovery of the genetic cause of a neurodevelopmental condition known as the Hypotonia Ataxia and Developmental Disorder Syndrome. Chao is the clinical instructor in pediatric neurology at Baylor College of Medicine and physician-scientist at the Jan and Dan Read More…


Hotez receives 2017 Sackler Award for his work on neglected tropical diseases

Dr. Peter J. Hotez is the 2017 recipient of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership for his far-reaching work in the areas of neglected tropical disease (NTD) research and vaccine development. Hotez is dean of the National School of Tropical Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine where he is also professor Read More…


Undiagnosed Disease Network helps patient families find answers to mysterious neurological diseases

When Bristol Dunlap was born, she was perfectly healthy. But by the time she was three months old, she was failing to reach her milestones and began showing worrisome symptoms. “She could not lift her head up or sit upright, her body was unusually floppy, and her left eye began turning inward even though her Read More…