Critical Care Medicine faculty, fellows present at SCCM annual meeting

2117crititicalcare640The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) held its 46th Annual Congress on January 21 to 25 in Honolulu, Hawaii. The SCCM is the largest and best attended annual meeting of the specialty of critical care.

This year, the Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital’s section of Critical Care Medicine had an outstanding presence at the meeting with 28 presentations from our faculty and fellows. Highlights from our section included Junior Faculty members Barbara-Jo Achuff and Tessy Thomas, who received Star Research awards. Other highlights included research snapshot presentations from Intensive Care Unit (ICU) fellows Dalia Bashir, Nirica Borges, Melanie Kitagawa, Erin Kritz, Sonia Labarinas, Andrea Ontaneda and Chinu Onyearugbulem, and Pediatric Intensive Care Unit nurse Jenny Tcharmtchi.

“This has been a fantastic year for us at the SCCM,” said Texas Children’s Chief of Critical Care Dr. Lara Shekerdemian. “We are so proud of our ICU team for representing our section and Texas Children’s Hospital and for all that they are doing to advance the field.”